Lee Moses – Time and Place

I’m a bit of a sucker for soul music, particularly the sort of soul with throat ripping vocals that you get with some Southern and Deep Soul.

So when I came across Lee Moses on Soul Sides I knew that I’d have to get the album. As you’ll be able to tell from the two tracks that are posted on the Soul Sides site Moses is one of those amazing performers that littered the soul scene in the late 1960s and early ’70s, without ever being recognised by the buying public.

Anyone who has the Deep Soul albums that Dave Godin put together for Kent will know what to expect here.

Amazing vocal performances across the whole album (which has crammed every known recording he did onto it) but my current favourites are Bad Girl (Parts 1 and 2), split over two sides of a 7” single, and I’m Sad About It.

From the liner notes it’s clear that Moses not only sang but played guitar – there’s a suggestion that he was playing in and around the same places as Hendrix before he [Hendrix] went on to become famous.  But for me it’s the horns that are the star of the instruments here, driving home the message that life ain’t a bed of roses.

If you like your soul raw, then this is for you.

More on Lee Moses.

About Andrew Brown

I live in Lewisham, South East London, and spent 9 years as a Labour councillor in the borough between 1997 and 2006.
This entry was posted in Music. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Lee Moses – Time and Place

  1. You’ve gone even higher in my estimation Andrew. I thought you were just into dull guitar music!

  2. andrewkbrown says:

    Well I like my indie rock, but man cannot live on a floppy fringe and a decent line in post punk attitude alone.

  3. Pingback: Southern Man « Someday I Will Treat You Good

  4. yiannis says:

    Just a few words from athens, greece. I’m listening again and again mr. Moses’ Time and Place, i’ve seen your blog and just came in to say hello

  5. Andrew Brown says:

    Thanks yiannis, it’s a top album.

  6. white 25yr soul lover from poland says:

    say what you want but for me lee moses is one of the greatest deep soul singers. this lp is one of my favourite of all. lee’s singing is raw, fulfilled with passion and the music fits him perfectly. that’s the kinda sound i love and always look for. peace

Leave a Reply

