millwall vs. port vale

As part of Millwall’s attempts to increase their supporter base my son and I got free tickets to their game against Port Vale yesterday.

His school had been given an allocation and we thought it would make a fun afternoon. And so it proved.

As far as the football went, I thought Millwall shaded it, playing the better attacking football and creating some reasonable chances. But they did have a tendancy to loose concentration and Port Vale were never out of it at 1-0 and so it wasn’t a shock when they equalised in the second half.

It seemed clear to me that both teams got a lot of value through their a big physical strikers; in Millwall’s case Paul Hubertz and for Port Vale Akpo Sodje.

The only down-sides to the afternoon were the half-time refreshments. Not the standard, but our inability to get any. After queuing up for the whole of the 15 minutes and a bit more, the moment we got to the front of the queue they closed the shutters in our faces.

Still we didn’t let that get us down and both of us agreed it had been an enjoyable match. Will we be going back? Not sure, but its certainly possible.

Update: If you want to know what Millwall fans thought of the initiative then there’s an interesting discussion on their Forum.  For what its worth here’s my take a few weeks on.

Football fans are passionate about their team and express that passion in fairly obvious ways.  I want to wait a few years before I have to have the conversation about swearing with my kids so in all honesty its a bit unlikely that I’ll be going back until they’re a bit older.

I’d also say that turning potential fans into there every game fans isn’t going to happen with a single freebie, however good the experience.

What’s less clear to me is why the initiative is so resented by the fans on the Forum.  I do understand that if you’ve paid for something and the person sitting next to you hasn’t you might feel annoyed.  But how else are the club going to win new fans, particularly when faced with nearby clubs which have a few more advantages in terms of getting the floating vote?

About Andrew Brown

I live in Lewisham, South East London, and spent 9 years as a Labour councillor in the borough between 1997 and 2006.
This entry was posted in Sport. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to millwall vs. port vale

  1. So THAT was why Millwall suddenly had a 10,000 crowd! 😉

  2. andrewkbrown says:

    And if they’d let me buy a cup of tea and a sausage roll they might have made me want to come back…

  3. Pingback: Governor Brown « Someday I Will Treat You Good

Leave a Reply

