mash up

This is a little bit of this and a little bit of that.

The chicken – which is hiding under the tomato sauce – was covered in flour then fried for 15 minutes.  I then covered it with a tin of tomatoes, and a good glug of white wine and crushed a clove of garlic in there as well.  This then simmered away for about a further 15 minutes and I stirred occasionally.

The rest of the meal was a butternut squash cut into chunks, drizzled with olive oil and then cooked for 15 minutes at 200C.  Meanwhile I cut the tops off some chestnuts and boiled them in water for 3 or 4 minutes, and then pealed the shells off. (NB if anyone knows a way of getting the shells off that doesn’t rip your finger nails out please let me know.)  I then added the chestnuts and some bacon to the squash and cooked that for a further 15 minutes.

When I served up I squeezed half a lemon over the chicken.

The result was very nice, but as I say there’s a physical price to pay, in that my nails feel very tender this morning.

About Andrew Brown

I live in Lewisham, South East London, and spent 9 years as a Labour councillor in the borough between 1997 and 2006.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

