Prawns and spaghetti

Last night I thought I’d try to make something without a recipe book. And this was the result.

Not bad for a made up recipe.

Anyway here’s what I did.

After putting on the water to boil for the spaghetti I chopped a chili and half an onion, and fried those in a bit of olive oil for a few minutes. In the meantime I tore up some basil. When the water was boiling I put in the spaghetti.

I then added the prawns to the onion and chili along with a generous squeeze of lemon juice. About 2 minutes before the pasta was ready I put half the basil in with the prawns and kept stirring until the pasta was done.

Served it all up and garnished with the rest of the basil and some parmesan cheese.

Next time I might add mushrooms to the mix.

About Andrew Brown

I live in Lewisham, South East London, and spent 9 years as a Labour councillor in the borough between 1997 and 2006.
This entry was posted in food. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Prawns and spaghetti

  1. Max says:

    Mushrooms work very well with prawns as well as asparaguses.
    I think that their best friend anyway is Garlic, they often get together to have some white wine (dry).

  2. andrewkbrown says:

    Ah, I forgot to say that I’d stuck 2 cloves of garlic in to the onion chili mix – its almost an automatic part of cooking isn’t it.

    Didn’t stick any wine in though. Good tip for next time.

  3. kate says:

    no! mushrooms are wrong. ban them now. make a new blog “labour agains mushies” 😉

  4. Max says:

    Mushrooms, mushrooms!!! I’d even add that Shitake mushrooms with prawns and shallots are a wonderful thing.

  5. Trevor says:

    Try adding a spoonful of ginger next time, it really brings out a new flavour.

  6. Andrew Brown says:

    Oh, good idea. Thanks Trevor.

Leave a Reply

