If I’m Grumpy

I’ve not been pulling all nighters listening to the cricket, but every so often I wake up, stick the radio on and almost always wish I hadn’t bothered.

As I said back in September:

The problem will be which England turn up.  Will it be the irresistible titans or the wayward clowns?  A lot rests on Steve Harmison, it seems to me; if he’s fit and bowling in the right places I can’t imagine England loosing.  Otherwise it’ll be harder, a lot harder.

Well, for most of these first two Tests we’ve seen the former rather than the latter, and some of that is down preparation and some to selection.  Tim de Lisle gets it right, as far as I can see:

If England had played a full bowling attack in these two Tests … well, it surely wouldn’t have been this bad. Harmison, Anderson and Giles have taken six for 853 in the series. No team can afford that. The price they have paid for dropping two young bowlers who were doing well, in Panesar and Mahmood, has been an awfully high one.

It might get better by the time I get to Sydney, but I won’t be counting on it.

About Andrew Brown

I live in Lewisham, South East London, and spent 9 years as a Labour councillor in the borough between 1997 and 2006.
This entry was posted in Sport. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to If I’m Grumpy

  1. B4L says:

    I’m afraid I had the radio on until something like 7.30 am, falling asleep just before the coup de grace. What a sickener.
    To be honest I’d forgotten all about Mahmood with all the talk about Panesar/Giles and Read/Jones, but surely the day was lost by (a) having to face Warne at all on the last day, and (b) not playing +vely against him from the start.

  2. andrewkbrown says:

    Well there was that; but not catching/running out Ponting was pretty important too.

Leave a Reply

