politicians and social networking

Scrybe has been keeping us informed about how the runners and riders, in the Labour Deputy Leadership race, are doing on Facebook.

I can’t say I’ve ever ventured into the world of social networks, but this is what Facebook says about itself:

Facebook is a social utility that helps people better understand the world around them. Facebook develops technologies that facilitate the spread of information through social networks allowing people to share information online the same way they do in the real world.

Anyway I thought these three pieces looking at how Facebook has been used in US politics gives a sense of what people are trying to do.  It looks interesting, but I wonder whether it’ll work in the more formal political environment we’ve got in the UK; where activists tend to be members of parties.

Also of interest are these four rules for doing politics on MySpace.

About Andrew Brown

I live in Lewisham, South East London, and spent 9 years as a Labour councillor in the borough between 1997 and 2006.
This entry was posted in Politics, Techie. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to politicians and social networking

  1. Scrybe says:

    Many thanks for giving me the hat tip on this – just checked my stats and its directed quite a few people m way, so its much appreciated. Also appreicated are the links to ‘guides’ on doing politics on facebook/myspace, which I’m about to read through.

    And I’ll fill in the ’10 things’ viarl shortly. lol. I was rather hoping that my relative obscurity would preclude me being pulled into it – not for having to do it, but for having to think of ten people to hit up to do it after me!

  2. andrewkbrown says:

    Always good to know that I’ve sent anyone anywhere; if you know what I mean.

    And no one escapes the viral horror of thinking of who to pass the thing onto…

Leave a Reply

