I Was A Vinyl Junkie

Singles

Originally uploaded by Andrew K Brown.

I can’t quite explain how excited I am. I’ve just got my hands on a USB turntable, after a good few years without a turntable at all.

Suddenly all the records that I’ve had in boxes have a life again! And I can turn them into MP3 files.

I’d forgotten how different vinyl is to CD and what I liked so much about it. The reverence in handling the object; the care you need to take to avoid scratches, the inevitability of scratches, and that records used to have sides!

It all rushes back.

As do a whole load of songs I’ve not been able to hear for at least half a decade.

I’ve been starting with singles, mainly ones I bought in the early 90s. I didn’t really ever buy lots of 7” singles, but there was a period when I would dip in, usually on the basis of the cover rather than hearing the music on the radio, and mostly they came off.

So now I get to rediscover the joys of Flinch, Bandit Queen, Thumper, Hopper and Thrum. Somehow, all these bands had female vocalists along with the post NWONW indie ascetic.

What a delight!

About Andrew Brown

I live in Lewisham, South East London, and spent 9 years as a Labour councillor in the borough between 1997 and 2006.
This entry was posted in Music, Techie. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to I Was A Vinyl Junkie

  1. earthpal says:

    Gosh! I had a huge vinyl collection, mainly 80’s indie stuff and including many limited editions and then, one day I had a car boot sale and sold them all within minutes. The regular traders were falling over themselves to get to me.

    I have regretted it ever since. It felt as though I’d sold my very soul to the devil.

    Hope you re-enjoy yours.

  2. Paulie says:

    Andrew,

    This will ruin your life. You will end up spending years doing all of this. Beleive me. I know.

    Could I have the MP3s of any Teardrop Explodes stuff you do?

    😉

  3. Skuds says:

    Let us know how you get on.

    A few years ago I got a decent turntable and rediscovered all my old vinyl. Unfortunately its probably too good to be useful for ripping to mp3 (my few attempts were not too good) and its now in a cupboard and the vinyl is back in the loft.

    Sometimes I get tempted to try one of those USB turntables. Someone should hire them out.

    Do you need a decent sound card or would bog-standard onboard sound do OK?

  4. andrewkbrown says:

    I don’t think I’ve got too many valuable records, unless The Goldenrods’ “Lesbian Nation” has suddenly caught on amongst the record collecting fraternity. But I am glad I didn’t cull my collection just because I didn’t have anything to play it on.

    That said my family may well feel differently; the pull, as you say Paulie, is very strong and there could be too many weekends holed up in here worshipping at the vinyl alter.

    But I’m afraid that the Teardrop were a bit early for me. My stuff is late ’80s onwards really.

    So far Skuds I’m really pleased with the results. The thing that seems to make a difference is the Audacity and SoundSoap software. The first to record and the second to clean up the sound and reduce the size of the file.

    As for sound cards I’m just using the one that came with the computer.

    Now, where did I put those early My Bloody Valentine 12″ singles…

  5. kate says:

    hi andrew my husband has a massive record collection sitting under our bed i want rid of it but he doesnt the solution is to get it recorded but ive never heard of a usb record player. where could i find one?

  6. andrewkbrown says:

    Kate, I found mine on the internet. But as Paulie says, it does take a very long time to record them all.

  7. Pingback: Sneaky Feelings - Dunedin Double EP « Someday I Will Treat You Good

Leave a Reply

