More meme

Kate got me for the 5 reasons you blog meme.

  1. Habit; I’ve been doing it for 3 years.
  2. The connections; I couldn’t have organised the Lewisham bloggers meet-up without being a blogger, and it’s moments like that which help keep my faith in the ability of social media to step beyond the online ramblings of the millions of us who do this.
  3. The conversation; blogging gives us the chance to take something we see and think is interesting or noteworthy and amplify that a bit, and when it really works there’s a momentumn that goes beyond your own post.  So my emailed conversation with an Australian teacher gives me a greater insight into the plans my children’s school have for exploring educational uses of web 2.0 technology.
  4. To record my part in my community; my original motivation as a blogger was to add to my accountability as a politician, now that I’m not this blog remains a place where I can explore what’s going on and try to exert influence.
  5. Fighting the good fight; blogging allows me to explain my political activism to whoever stumbles across the blog and I hope gives a more realistic view of who we are and what motivates us than you might get from the mainstream media.

There are, of course, other reasons – expressing delight in the fantastic things people can do with the internet and sharing the content of my recipe books – but those five will do.

Tagging: David, The Inspector, Adam, Snowflake and Scrybe.

About Andrew Brown

I live in Lewisham, South East London, and spent 9 years as a Labour councillor in the borough between 1997 and 2006.
This entry was posted in Ephemera. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

