On why I was a worse politician than I should have been

I’m grateful to Chris Dillow for bringing this paper to my attention which proves, beyond a shaddow of a doubt, that it wasn’t my fault that I was a bid rubbish as a politician and that I wasn’t able to achieve all that I’d hoped in my nine years as a politian; nor that I couldn’t keep winning elections.

No, it seems the reason I was a mediocre politician is systemic.

You see, political parties don’t try to put forward the ‘brightest and the best’, rather they are forced to plump for the middle ground, choosing mediocraties like me.

It turns out the parties fear they can’t compete with the market economy, where lobbying firms are their competition. However, I’m pleased to say there is a small silver lining:

the party pursues neither the very best prospects, nor the ones with the lowest political skills, both of whom end up working as lobbyists.

So if you’re a politician take heart, you too can take comfort in this.  If you’re a voter appreciate that there’s nothing your politicians can do to be better.  And if you’re a lobbiest recognise that you may be feeding from the top of the pond, but you’re also sucking up the bottom too.

About Andrew Brown

I live in Lewisham, South East London, and spent 9 years as a Labour councillor in the borough between 1997 and 2006.
This entry was posted in Politics. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to On why I was a worse politician than I should have been

  1. Pingback: Picking a Candidate « Someday I Will Treat You Good

Leave a Reply

