Why are they after the worst?

News Shopper wants to know which road tops your list as the worst in south east London and north Kent.

At this early stage it seems to be the A2 which is catching the poor hard done by drivers imagination.

Not being a driver I’m almost immune to the rage that the paper clearly thinks is out there waiting to be tapped about the state of our roads.  I wonder if so why so many people seem to prefer it to the alternatives.

I also wonder whether there’s a sub-Mail agenda at play; where every thing’s going to the dogs and there’s nothing positive to report.

If Lewisham council’s web pages were working (wonder what’s going on there!) I’d go in search of the figures for investment in roads that Steve has budgeted for over the last few years.  From memory it’s around about £10 million.

This has certainly made a difference to the streets (like mine) which have been resurfaced.  What I’m not sure about is whether there’s been similar investment in pavements, and given 46% of households in the borough don’t have a car that might be just as important.

About Andrew Brown

I live in Lewisham, South East London, and spent 9 years as a Labour councillor in the borough between 1997 and 2006.
This entry was posted in Ephemera, Lewisham. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Why are they after the worst?

  1. I’d imagine they want the worst because the News Shopper is a moaning old paper based far out in the suburbs, where they’re physically attached to their cars.

  2. kate says:

    They do have public transport in petts wood. So not everyone is attached to their cars. i’m not a driver and until late last year didn’t use public transport, even i can see problems with the roads.

  3. Paul Hornsby says:

    Hi Andrew,

    I apologise that you couldn’t access our site on Tuesday. The power at the Town Hall was switched off over the weekend, to permit testing of the electrics. When it was switched back on, we experienced several problems with our web servers.

    I believe our engineers have now resolved the problems, and you should now be able to find the information you require on our site.

    Kind regards

    Paul Hornsby
    Web Services, London Borough of Lewisham

  4. andrewkbrown says:

    Thanks for letting me know what’s been going on Paul. Now all I have to do is master the way you organise the site, so that I can try and find the information! 😉

  5. Paul Hornsby says:

    Thanks. I’m in the middle of re-organising the ‘transport and streets’ section at the moment, so if you have any comments or suggestions, I’d really welcome them.

    It’s difficult to maintain an information architecture that suits everyone when you have a site this big, but we still try.

  6. andrewkbrown says:

    As you say Paul its complicated stuff, and once I’ve had a nose around I’ll email you if there are any sensible suggestions.

    My real moan is about the search engine the site uses, which obscures more than it reveals.

  7. Lone Ranger says:

    The search facility on the council website seems to have improved and now produces relevant results. Today I typed in “Urban renaissance” the first 11 results were relevant but none of the links worked.

    Have put this here due as it may be of interest to Paul Hornsby.

  8. andrewkbrown says:

    I think they already know about the search engine problems.

  9. Paul Hornsby says:

    Yes, we do.

    We’re working to improve the search engine, and I’m sorry that this meant that it was out of action last weekend. We’re trying to minimize any future disruption.

    I hope you like the way the search engine works now. If you have any comments you can contact me via the ‘feedback’ link on the website.

Leave a Reply

