Reporting potholes

Normally I’d report potholes using Love Lewisham, but today I thought I’d have a go with the online form on the council’s website.

It is okay as online forms go, but takes about twice as long to complete without the added benefit of a photo for the council officers.

I’m all for all sorts of ways for people to be able to report faults and have them resolved quickly, but do wonder whether the council isn’t missing a trick by not using the systems that are there already a bit more seamlessly.

[Disclosure – I’ve been a consultant for the company that produce the technology for Love Lewisham]

Update – I’ve now had an excellent (well what did you expect) response from the council’s officers.  It turns out the pothole I’ve reported can’t be repaired without Thames Water pulling their finger out and repairing the leak (which is further up the road) that is causing the hole to fill with water.  Thames Water have been made aware of the leak and once it’s been fixed the council will come along and repair the pothole.

About Andrew Brown

I live in Lewisham, South East London, and spent 9 years as a Labour councillor in the borough between 1997 and 2006.
This entry was posted in Lewisham. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Reporting potholes

  1. andrewkbrown says:

    Yes. But, again, there’s not yet a link from the council’s webpage on road repairs to neighbourhoodfixit either…

  2. Love Lewisham says:

    Hi Andrew, If I were you I’d just carry-on using Love Lewisham. It would have been good to have established a joint approach with nhoodfixit, but from what I understand, they weren’t interested. They are still telling people that Lewisham ‘piloted’ their app., which is not true. Not sure what’s going on there!

  3. andrewkbrown says:

    Don’t worry, Love Lewisham definately comes out as the easiest (for me) way of reporting things. But you know how it is, I don’t want to become complacent and not try different ways of getting things achieved.

  4. Skuds says:

    You obviously have plenty of options in Lewisham, but those outside the Golden Borough might find the CTC’s website useful for such matters.

    They have something called fillthathole.org.uk where you can report potholes, raised manholes, and other hazards to road users. It probably just goes to a bloke who then telephones the right council, but if so it is invisible to the person doing the reporting.

    On a related topic, I once used the roads section of the TfL website to report some dead pedestrian crossing lights. If I remember rightly it interfaced with the relevent council (Southwark) and provided some limited progress reporting on the problem, using an incidentnumber it generated.

    All good examples of what public bodies should be using the Internet for.

  5. Paul Hornsby says:

    Thanks for the comments, they’re most helpful.

    You can indeed report potholes using Love Lewisham. The information you submit will be passed on, by Love Lewisham, to the relevant department (in this case it’s the Council’s Highways Team).

    If you use the Council’s ‘street problem’ form, the information that you submit goes directly to the Highways Team.

    It takes a little longer for the information to get through if you use Love Lewisham, which is why I’ve recommended the ‘street problem’ form in this case.

    Most people actually prefer to send an email to the Highways Team – that works too. You can find the email address on the pothole page.

    I’ll take a look at our online form, and see if I can cut it down a little, and perhaps allow people to attach a photo.

    I have to admit I’m not sure about adding a link to Love Lewisham on this page. (I do it wherever I think it’s helpful) I’d welcome any further comments, as usual.

    I’d love to be able to offer an online progress report once you’ve reported an issue to us, but that’s a little way off yet.

Leave a Reply

