Matthew Taylor takes my point

Matthew has been reflecting on the comments people have left on his blog and says:

Andrew and Praguetory – I agree there are some good blogs and I should stop talking only about the negative ones.

I might substitute “many” instead of “some”, but then possibly I don’t read with such a critical eye as Matthew.

He’s still right that we haven’t managed to turn a lot of the torrent of energy that goes into writing our blogs into too much practical action as yet; but wasn’t that ever the way with the majority of political and social actions?

Half the time I spend with my colleagues in the Labour Party isn’t about planning or delivering campaign activities, its about creating social bonds, arguing the toss about policy and holding our representatives to account.

In blogland we’re only just starting to think about how and whether we should act in unison, and the sort of broad political culture we’d like to establish.  Time will tell whether we’ve got the imagination to create momentum from our online debates into stuff that happens in the real world.

About Andrew Brown

I live in Lewisham, South East London, and spent 9 years as a Labour councillor in the borough between 1997 and 2006.
This entry was posted in Civic Society. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Matthew Taylor takes my point

  1. Praguetory says:

    I guess you/we could see those words as a challenge. Cool blog.

Leave a Reply

