Vermiculture Digest

At the moment we’re doing one of those things that you do with your kids; creating a worm farm. So when I came across this blog it struck a cord. Here’s Alex describing the idea behind the blog:

I decided that I would build a worm composting bin or ‘vermicomposter’ which would house the red worms and would be in our kitchen where it would be easy to transfer the organic waste to the bin. Eventually the bin will be harvested and the product of the worms’ work – worm castings will be used as a fertiliser for aiding the growth of more food to complete the vermiculture cycle.

And there’s a local link too as it looks like Lewisham Parks are providing some of the mix to go with the worm compost:

We found some old draws which we made drainage holes in and then filled with mixtures of Levington multi-purpose compost, vermicompost and recycled green waste from Lewisham Borough Council’s parks dept.

Most of my family’s kitchen waste goes into the compost bin where I’m hoping similar things are going on, but in a less planned and scientific way. Certainly things seem to take a little longer to break down than Alex describes happening. But given this soon to be published report on what we’re throwing out composting seems like a very good idea.

Anyway its a fascinating blog and I suggest you read it all.

About Andrew Brown

I live in Lewisham, South East London, and spent 9 years as a Labour councillor in the borough between 1997 and 2006.
This entry was posted in Civic Society, food, Lewisham. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Vermiculture Digest

  1. Max says:

    It’s very interesting. Good find. I too have just a compost bin where I throw kitchen waste and wow, it scares me every time I open the lead. I think I should vermiculture one of the features of my gardening season that I plan to start this week.

  2. kate says:

    I have an aunt and uncle who are in their 70s they have a worm farm and recycle just about everything possible. I didnt even know about that till i visited them last year.

  3. John says:

    I’ve got a ‘budget wormery’ on the allotment Andrew. £5.00 for a stack of soil sieves from the pound shop. They eat their way up through the sieves and every few weeks you take the bottom sieve off the pile (which is then full of worm casts and soil) empty the contents, fill it back up with veg waste topped off with a bit of earth and stick it on the top of the pile.

    You wouldn’t want to model a whole economy on it, but in the words of Bob Flowerdew ” they don’t work very fast, but then you don’t have to pay them very much!”

    Dalek Collection on the Allotment

Leave a Reply

