Tim Winton – In the Winter Dark

For Christmas I was given a copy of In The Winter Dark by Tim Winton.

It’s a short novel but rather good.

The plot revolves around three households in a valley in Australia where something weird starts happening.

At first its shadows seen out of the corner of the eye and then animals start being killed.

But rather than go to the police or the council they try to deal with what ever it is themselves.

The characters get sucked into mutually destructive relationships never quite liking eachother and never understanding the motivations of the others, but not able to escape either.

Winton builds to quite a grisley climax but the horror and weirdness never get out of hand in what I thought was a really well written novel.

About Andrew Brown

I live in Lewisham, South East London, and spent 9 years as a Labour councillor in the borough between 1997 and 2006.
This entry was posted in Books. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Tim Winton – In the Winter Dark

  1. sue says:

    I saw this movie just last night. It had me hooked..

  2. andrewkbrown says:

    I’ve not seen the film, but the book is very good.

  3. Lucy says:

    Is the movie called In The Winter Dark also?

  4. andrewkbrown says:

    I believe so. But I’ve not seen it.

  5. student says:

    can someone give me a full synopsis?! very intregeed

  6. Pingback: Breath - Tim Winton « Someday I Will Treat You Good

Leave a Reply

