Bees

Joan Ruddock has been asking about bees:

To ask the Secretary of State for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs

(1) whether his Department is monitoring colony collapse disorder in honey bees in (a) the US and (b) Germany;

(2) what research is being supported by the Government into the threat to UK honey bee colonies of colony collapse;

(3) what steps his Department is considering to prevent the importation of honey bee colonies from countries where incidents of colony collapse disorder have been recorded.

I can’t tell you how much it pleases me to find out that there is a National Bee Unit looking into this.

About Andrew Brown

I live in Lewisham, South East London, and spent 9 years as a Labour councillor in the borough between 1997 and 2006.
This entry was posted in food, Lewisham. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Bees

  1. You may, or may not, be surprised to hear that my wife and I keep bees, but apart from the usual swarming which needs a firm hand to control (and retrieve the swarm from neighbours gardens) there has been no confirmed sighting in this part of London of this complaint.

    Beekeeping in London is quite active – almost popular! – but dedication to the cause of the bee is essential!

    I’m pleased that JR is taking an interest in this, but concened that she is being wooed by the developers of the Lewisham Gateway – there may well be a need to consider my usual labour vote when the next general election is held.

  2. Bob says:

    Have you hung out in the bee room at the Horniman?

  3. andrewkbrown says:

    No, but I was once asked to give a certificate to an octigenarian bee keeper, who was kind enough to show me his hives.

    I learnt a lot that day, including not to trust bee keepers that tell you that their bees don’t sting.

  4. Pingback: More Bees « Someday I Will Treat You Good

  5. a bee keeper telling you that bee’s don’t sting is incredible, and I suspect he may have been pulling your leg. Of course bees sting, but, if well kept, they are less likely to sting. He may have been saying that *his* bees don’t sting, which is more likely. I haven’t been stung by any of my bees, although one or two have chased me round the garden . . .

    At the bee club I attend there are approximately 17 hives and no-one wears protective garments at any time of the year (although people *do* very occasionally get stung).

    By the way, I’ll sell you a jar of honey for a million pounds 😉

  6. Lone Ranger says:

    Or there’s Catford Honey a bit cheaper… http://www.wholesomehoney.co.uk/

  7. Pingback: Yet More Bees « Someday I Will Treat You Good

  8. Pingback: Junior Ministers Appointed « Someday I Will Treat You Good

Leave a Reply

