House and Home

For some reason I thought I’d create a playlist of songs which have house or home in the title. Here’s what I came up with from my collection:

  • A House is not a Home – Mavis Staples
  • House Burning Down – Jimi Hendrix
  • House – Babes in Toyland
  • House of Jealous Lovers – The Rapture
  • House of Juju Queen – Janie Jones
  • House of the Rising Sun – Country Gentlemen
  • House Party – Fred Wesley
  • The House that Jack Kerouac Built – The Go Betweens
  • Houses of the Holy – Led Zeppelin
  • Home is Where the Hatred Is – Esther Phillips
  • Home In Your Heart – Solomon Burke
  • A House is not a Home – The Charlatans
  • House is not a Home (Palmdale, CA) – Willard Grant Conspiracy

About Andrew Brown

I live in Lewisham, South East London, and spent 9 years as a Labour councillor in the borough between 1997 and 2006.
This entry was posted in Music. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to House and Home

  1. Max says:

    Fred Wesley’s House Party is on top of my list of songs that I don’t have but need to get asap.
    I used to have that disc but somehow it disappeared during one of my migrations.

    Does “I’m in the Jailhouse now” by Hank Williams count?

  2. James Howlett says:

    Just read this and it reminded me that ‘Come on up to the House’ by Tom Waits is incredible. What a way to finish an album. Get it if you haven’t already!

  3. andrewkbrown says:

    I’ve never really done Tom Waits. Don’t know why, just slightly too odd I guess. But maybe its time to reassess.

Leave a comment