Deputy Leader, who are our MPs supporting?

While I’m sure it won’t be a big surprise if all three Lewisham MPs nominate Gordon for the leadership of the Labour Party their votes for Deputy Leader are split.

Jim and Bridget have come out for Hazel Blears, while Joan is heavily involved in Harriet Harman’s campaign.

Locally Lewisham Deptford Labour Party are organising a meeting in early(ish) June to hear from Harriet which will be open to Labour Party members and sympathisers and if you would like more details about that drop me a line.

But, to be clear, Deptford Labour Party haven’t decided who (if anyone) will get a supporting nomination from the CLP.

About Andrew Brown

I live in Lewisham, South East London, and spent 9 years as a Labour councillor in the borough between 1997 and 2006.
This entry was posted in Lewisham, Politics. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Deputy Leader, who are our MPs supporting?

  1. As somebody who follows the Labour leadership question with big interest, it is good to hear, that obviously all three Lewisham MPs back Gordon as new leader of the party.
    My personal choice as Deputy Leader would be Harriet Harman, because, from my point of view, she did an excellent job as a minister.
    But nevertheless I´m glad, that I am no member of the Labour Party, but of a related one, so that I don´t have to make that descision.
    I hope the Deputy leadership discussion can be used for a good discussion about the future political direction of the whole party.

    Best wishes from Regensburg.

    Seb

    P.S. By the way: how are you, Andrew? I hope you´re doing well.

  2. andrewkbrown says:

    Nice to hear from you Seb, I’m good thanks.

    Like you I think that it’ll be an interesting election as there are some strong contenders. I’m hoping that they’ll all help us think about how we improve the way the party governs and the way we organise ourselves.

    Looking at Gordon’s opening speech of his campaign I think that’ll be equally interesting, though perhaps not as competitive.

    Thanks for staying in touch and fraternal good wishes to the SPD.

Leave a Reply

