What’s in the box?

Another week, another set of tunes from my vault.

This week I’ve gone for a trio of singles.

  1. Lady Love Your Countryside – Sleeper: Britpop wasn’t all that, but I quite liked this B side on listening to it again.
  2. Rebound – Sebadoh: Lou Barlow; lo-fi indie rock god.
  3. Bang Bang Bang (Demo Version) – S*M*A*S*H: From the punkier end of the shortlived new wave of the new wave scene. This is off the first Fierce Panda single, Shagging in the Streets.
About Andrew Brown

I live in Lewisham, South East London, and spent 9 years as a Labour councillor in the borough between 1997 and 2006.
This entry was posted in Music. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to What’s in the box?

  1. vu says:

    good stuff 🙂

  2. jonathan says:

    Ah, I remember buying ‘Shagging In The Streets’ the day it came out! Don’t think I’ve still got my copy – or it’s packed away somewhere. I briefly really loved those bands – as an eager teenager I wrote a letter to Mantaray telling them I liked ‘Sad’ and after that they used to put me on all their guestlists and send me free records and compilation tapes they’d made me. Amazing! I loved Action Painting too, and was hilariously starstruck when I met one of them in a pub in Brighton ten years later. I don’t think he was used to people being starstruck!

    Sebadoh were briefly the best band in the world for six months or so, weren’t they. I saw Lou play with Dinosaur Jr the other month and just stood there thinking ‘Lou Barlow! Lou Barlow! LOU BARLOW!’.

    I’m easily impressed.

  3. andrewkbrown says:

    It was a damned fine double single, and I’m sure that I’d be star struck on meeting anyone from those bands even now.

    As you say “LOU BARLOW”!

  4. John Dyson says:

    Ah 4 song ep by Sebadoh, you’ve inspired me to pull that one out of the old collection…

    Typical of a lot of Sebadoh, it’s one tremendous piece of lo-fi indie rock genius backed up with a load of tuneless, shouty nonsense. I always wondered how they got away with it to be honest…

  5. andrewkbrown says:

    I thought the tuneless stuff was usually the work of other members of the band – could be wrong on that. Wasn’t there a thing that they all changed instruments, surely a reaction to being in Dinosaur Jr.

    Give Me Indie Rock!

  6. John Dyson says:

    Yeah, they did work in a fairly democratic way. I think the others probably knew which side their bread was buttered, as Lou Barlow could have a way with a tune. I’ve just put one of these box things on my site and added some Guided By Voices stuff talking of people who had a way with a tune…

Leave a Reply

