Catford Beer Festival

Along with what seemed like half of Lewisham’s Lib Dem councillors I spent the evening at the 15th Annual Catford Beer Festival.  And nice to meet Paul H who has occasionally commented on this blog.

Anyway here’s the SELCAMRA blurb about the festival:

The Festival will feature over 70 fantastic British real ales served on two bars. There will also be a range of foreign bottled beers from Belgium, Holland and Germany. For those who want to try something different there will also be 20 interesting ciders, 9 Perries and English country wines available.

The beers I tried were all very good – and I think I just about stayed this side of the sensible drinking line – but they don’t half insist on some silly names. One of my drinking companions had a pint of something called “Grandma wouldn’t like it”, while another ended our evening with a half of “Rambler’s Ruin”.

Should you have a spare evening tonight or tomorrow then you might want to get along to the Broadway Theatre in Catford to sample the delights for your self.

Beer Festivals

Blogged with Flock

About Andrew Brown

I live in Lewisham, South East London, and spent 9 years as a Labour councillor in the borough between 1997 and 2006.
This entry was posted in Ephemera, Lewisham. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Catford Beer Festival

  1. Mr Hornsby says:

    Good to meet you too Andrew, though I’m afraid I may have strayed slightly over the sensible drinking line by the time we met.
    Thanks for the encouragement with the blog. More on that soon.
    We had a great night out, I’d highly recommend it to anyone.

  2. Knit Nurse says:

    I second the comment about the silly names. I noticed a beer mat down at the Dog & Bell last night advertising ‘Heavenly Body’ from the Brentwood Brewing Company. It was accompanied by a picture of a blonde woman in a long dress. When I looked at their website I see that they also produce the hilariously-titled ‘Summer Virgin. A taste of things to come…’
    Ahem.

Leave a Reply

