Biriani

 

This is another version of Nigel Slater’s chicken biriani.

I’ve used cream instead of yogurt and added an aubergine that I’d roasted separately.

To start though I washed and boiled my rice, then while that was cooking I fried the chicken thighs.  When they were browned all over I added  half a onion, two cloves of garlic, and a chunk of garlic (all of which I’d chopped up) and cooked them for about 5 minutes.

Next I added the spices – a teaspoon of coriander powder, half a teaspoon of cumin, half a teaspoon of cinnamon and quarter of a teaspoon of turmeric – and after a minute added the cream – I just kept pouring until it looked like I’d got enough.  After another minute I added the cooked rice and the aubergine and covered the whole thing with foil and put the lid on.  Turning the heat right down I left it to cook for 10 minutes.

I garnished with chopped coriander leaves.

Got to say it was lovely.

About Andrew Brown

I live in Lewisham, South East London, and spent 9 years as a Labour councillor in the borough between 1997 and 2006.
This entry was posted in food. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Biriani

  1. Knit Nurse says:

    It looks like you stood well back when you threw the chicken in, as my mum would say! Are you sure there’s any in there?!

  2. andrewkbrown says:

    Would you believe 4 large thighs? They’re buried under the rice.

Leave a Reply

