Lewisham’s Spacial Strategy Consultation

Where the council proposes to allow developmentI’m sure that the Council’s consultation on the Local Development Framework – ie what the Council are planning to allow to happen with the borough – has been the talk of all your breakfast table’s, but somehow I only got around to taking a look today.

And I’m glad I did, as the consultation ends today.   As a result I’ve not looked at everything they’re consulting on or in as much depth as I would normally.  Nevertheless I have filled in a response and emailed it back to the Council.

Should you be interested here’s what I said:

I support the strategy of promoting major growth in town centres.

However, I said that where these developments include housing I believe there should be a clear recognition of the need for increases in the number of units available for social rents, and for a proportion of those to have 3 and 4 bedrooms.

I support the aspiration to deliver and exceed an additional 9750 homes to be built by 2016, of which 3160 will be affordable housing.

But, again, it will be important that these include a good proportion of 3 and 4 bedroom properties.

And I said that as someone who walks a great deal in Lewisham I’m pleased to see the Council wanting to recognise the needs of pedestrians as principal in new developments and redesign of existing public space.  However, it isn’t clear to me if this includes the borough’s streets and pavements.

The Council have – quite rightly – invested substantial sums in renewing road surfaces.  It would be helpful if when doing this they looked at the whole streetscape and how they could improve the lot of pedestrians.

I also gave my support to policies that seek to enhance and protect open spaces and better public transport.

No doubt there is more I should have said, but you can only stretch a lunch hour so far.

About Andrew Brown

I live in Lewisham, South East London, and spent 9 years as a Labour councillor in the borough between 1997 and 2006.
This entry was posted in Civic Society, Lewisham. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

