The View

Watched The Murcury Prize show on BBC4 last night. Couldn’t help but notice just how clear some of the influences seemed to come through.

Anyway much taken with The View, who to me sounded a bit like Leatherface* at least in singing Superstar Tradesman.

* a good thing, should you wonder.

About Andrew Brown

I live in Lewisham, South East London, and spent 9 years as a Labour councillor in the borough between 1997 and 2006.
This entry was posted in Music. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The View

  1. Reidski says:

    Never heard of Leatherface – must be a young person’s band – but, as for the View, liked their album first couple of times I heard it, but got bored very soon afterwards. Not listened to it for months and can’t imagine listening to it again!

  2. andrewkbrown says:

    must be a young person’s band

    Oh you flatterer! I must have seen them back in the early 1990s, probably supporting Therapy? who had gone a bit too Metal for me by then.

    I’ll take your concerns about The View into consideration before spending any money on their product.

  3. Reidski says:

    Ok, you have shown yourself to be an old git – Therapy? (and wrong way round for the question mark too!) were superb. Now and again, I get my only CD of theirs out (Nurse, I think it’s called) and am reminded of just how ace they were! They were probably far too metal for you by then though 😉

  4. andrewkbrown says:

    Yeah, I’ve got that album, but it’s their first two mini LPs that are my favourites, at that point they had more in common with Steve Albini than Metalica.

Leave a Reply

