Essential Music

Sadly the last day of trading will be this Sunday.

I’ve always enjoyed a visit to Essential Music in the three shops it’s been in since I first visited it in Greenwich over a decade ago.  You always knew you’d be able to find a really good album either to fill a hole or brand spanking newly minted at a price that told you all you needed to know about the mark-up that the multiples keep on making.

No trip to the market was complete without me saying to my partner, “I’ll just go and see what they’ve got, won’t be long.”  And then emerging with a paper bag full of CDs half an hour later.

Anyway here’s owner Neil on his high points:

The day the first Suede album came out always sticks in my mind. I had decided to sell it at cost price, we had a poster to give away [ Denied to multiples] and were £4 cheaper than your High Street rubbish. But it was the queue of beautiful ones that did me and it went on all day. Never seen anything like it anywhere. [Oh all right, maybe Bowie at Lewisham Odeon].

Christmas in entertainment retail can be a bit cans-of-beans so I put some in the window. Someone left a boxed gentleman`s posing pouch in the shop, so that went in,too. There was once a time and a place when you could make such gestures and people wouldn`t so readily offend themselves.

Sad to see it go.

About Andrew Brown

I live in Lewisham, South East London, and spent 9 years as a Labour councillor in the borough between 1997 and 2006.
This entry was posted in Music, South East London. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Essential Music

  1. Knit Nurse says:

    “There was once a time and a place when you could make such gestures and people wouldn`t so readily offend themselves.”

    That must have been the era of that hardware/junk shop opposite the Picturehouse. Does anyone else still remember the selection of vibrators that used to be tucked hither and thither between the vacuum flasks, hammers and T-squares in the window? It was always a popular game to try and spot them as we passed – particularly the comedy ones shaped like cucumbers or corn on the cob. By now I am starting to wonder if I dreamt the whole thing…

  2. And I was one of those who got my Suede album from Neil as well – on the first day, with carrier bag!

    Was always best in Creek Road – am sad to see it finally go.

Leave a Reply

