Re-Elect Ken

I’ve not always been very keen on Ken, but then he’s not always been keen on me (by which I mean the former me when I was a councillor). Here’s what he says about councillors in London:

At the moment, most London boroughs are lucky if they’ve got one good, effective political operator.

The implication being that the rest are out of their depth, which (given the Labour ones are the people who will go out on the door step asking people to vote for him) shows a certain level of arrogance.

And there are a fair few other reasons you could find for not liking the man.

But, and you knew that was coming didn’t you, I’ll swallow my pride and will not only be voting for him but will campaign for him, and Len Duvall, in the run up to the Mayoral and GLA elections next year.

Mostly that’s because I think London has improved under his leadership. Unlike others I’m a fan of the bendy buses and the investment in buses in general; I quite like the new skyline we’re getting in East London; and think he’s shown imagination and leadership around the areas he’s responsible for. On top of that it’s been his budgets (passed without the support of Tories of Lib Dems) which have meant that we have seen a huge rise in the number of community based police officers across the capital.

About Andrew Brown

I live in Lewisham, South East London, and spent 9 years as a Labour councillor in the borough between 1997 and 2006.
This entry was posted in Politics and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Re-Elect Ken

  1. I have to agree. I am a Ken fan. I have to say though I liked him best when he was out of the Labour fold and causing embarrassment to TB and the rest! I too am a fan of bendy buses, though I seem to be in a minority. Not too sure about Len Duvall – I have no idea what the Assembly members really do for their constituencies.

  2. Jason Plessas says:

    Nice honest blog there.

    Dw Clare, even though he’s in Labour, he can still embarrass TB, GB and the gang! He was dead against the war on Iraq and:

    “I just long for the day I wake up and find that the Saudi royal family are swinging from lamp-posts and they’ve got a proper government that represents the people of Saudi Arabia.”

    Legend!

  3. Ross says:

    the day he stops given a platform to extreme anti-semitic, homophobic and misogist right wing preachers (i.e. Yusuf al-Qaradawi ) then i’ll maybe start to take him slightly more seriously than i do at the moment

    http://www.petertatchell.net/religion/qaradawi.htm

Leave a Reply

