GAC – Bird Garden with Intestinal Self-Portrait

Via things magazine I find that the Government Art Collection is online. The picture above [now removed as I’m told it’s a violation of copyright – see Robert’s comment] was the first I came across and the collectors describe it in this way:

Inspired by “The Conference of Birds”, a twelfth-century verse by the Persian poet Farid Al-Din Attar, Abbassy’s work depicts the physical and spiritual elements of human existence. Inspired by this idea, the natural forms of the trees and birds symbolise self-knowledge, while the woman’s body represents the anatomical or physical aspect of life.

Now I know its there I will try to explore it a bit more.

About Andrew Brown

I live in Lewisham, South East London, and spent 9 years as a Labour councillor in the borough between 1997 and 2006.
This entry was posted in Art and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to GAC – Bird Garden with Intestinal Self-Portrait

  1. Richard says:

    Gawd! That’s one of the ugliest bits of art I’ve seen for a long while!

  2. Cassilis says:

    Thanks for bringing this to my attention Andrew. Art & Politics are two of my main interests so shame on me for missing this myself!

    May blog on it later and will of course credit you….

  3. Andrew Brown says:

    Richard, I don’t know I quite like it.

    Cassilis, I think you can stop beating yourself up. The Independent seems to indicate that it hasn’t been online all that long.

  4. Robert Jones says:

    Dear Andrew,

    I just wanted to point out that you are infringing the artist’s copyright by copying it and reproducing it on your link without permission. You are also infringing the copyright in the photograph which belongs to the Government Art Collection. Perhaps you were not aware of this, but you should remove it immediately.

    Yours

    Robert Jones

  5. Andrew Brown says:

    Thanks for the tip Robert, certainly wasn’t my intention, just wanted to bring people’s attention to the collection and a painting that I quite liked.

  6. Max says:

    Tunnel-visioned bureaucrats from outer space strike again!

  7. June says:

    Every blogger out there seems to use pictures without asking permission – it occurs all the time and is now a fact of internet life. Unless it is used maliciously or in a negative way, there seems no harm as long as all concerned are credited correctly, which Andrew Brown had done by citing the artist and the source of the image (which is more than some bloggers do!) In this instance, Robert Jones is being somewhat over-officious as the blog reproduced the work for informative, positive reasons and did it with perfect blogger manners!

  8. Andrew Brown says:

    Thanks June. Clearly blogger manners and the law aren’t quite compatible yet.

Leave a Reply

