You Made Me Realise

I know that I’ve already pointed you in the direction of this stuff once already this week, but what a song!  It has everything I want from a rock song; screaming guitars, driving bass, and a boy/girl vocal which is just about incomprehensible, but which you know is all about being young and thinking about death.

For me this was one of the best songs My Bloody Valentine ever recorded, balanced as it is between their influences and where they’d go in the future.

In lots of ways I wish they’d stayed just there bringing us a British (or Irish) Sonic Youth and carrying on the tradition of The Jesus and Mary Chain.

About Andrew Brown

I live in Lewisham, South East London, and spent 9 years as a Labour councillor in the borough between 1997 and 2006.
This entry was posted in Music and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to You Made Me Realise

  1. Ross says:

    they had to move aside to make way for the indefatigable might of mogwai!

  2. Andrew Brown says:

    Maybe, Ross, but I must have the wrong Mogwai albums, as I can’t say that all that post-rock stuff ever excited me very much.

  3. Richard says:

    I’m not so fond of this period – I prefer the more swoonsome stuff that came later like “To Here Knows When” – abstract, slippery, atonal – but still pop, somehow…

    By the way, can I have the extra “G” back in the (much appreciated) link to Baggage Reclaim in your sidebar sometime? 😉

  4. Andrew Brown says:

    Sorry about the ‘g’ Richard, don’t know how it escaped!

    Somehow it doesn’t surprise me that you’re fonder of the later MBV stuff.

  5. Richard says:

    I worked in a record shop at the time of “Made Me realise” it it used to be played on rotation at brain crunching volume…I’m afraid I rather grew to resent it, referring to it as “My Bloody Racket”…

    The later stuff came as a real surpeise to me!

    Thanks for the “G”

Leave a Reply

