False beard

Fake Beard

This photo is by way of saying thank you to the Lewisham bloggers.  At the last meet up one of the things I was pleased to get advice on was how to create the perfect nativity outfit for my oldest son.

The best idea of the evening was to create a false beard out of felt.

It worked very well, so thank you Lewisham bloggers!

About Andrew Brown

I live in Lewisham, South East London, and spent 9 years as a Labour councillor in the borough between 1997 and 2006.
This entry was posted in Ephemera and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to False beard

  1. robert says:

    something very Amish about that look! Not sure what the Amish think of fake beards though, never mind Christmas

    Maybe you should join us on the Dark side and go for the authentic hirsute experience?

  2. Andrew Brown says:

    I tried that look this summer for about 3 weeks. Didn’t quite work, plus the missus wasn’t at all impressed with either the look or the physicality.

  3. Reidski says:

    I agree, it is a bit Amish – must be the tank top!

  4. Max says:

    Never mind the hair, if you can get a good old testament shepard scent you make this nativity play stand out from the crowd.

  5. Knit Nurse says:

    Actually I think the tank top looks like it’s cut out of felt too. The same felt as the beard

  6. wordhawk says:

    Hi, Somehow, on the Online University blog, you have pasted a copy of my poem Blanche. I don’t object, since you’ve included the link, but I have a feeling from the bit you’ve written above, that you meant to share a photo, not my piece.

    Kat

    http://www.wordhawk.wordpress.com

  7. Andrew Brown says:

    er… Kat, don’t quite understand your comment. As far as I know I’ve not contributed anything to an Online University blog…

  8. wordhawk says:

    Bizarre that. In my incoming links, I was directed to the Online blog and your link was there above a copy of one of my poems. Not sure how that happened.
    Oh well, drop by sometime. Your blog is interesting, although I was a bit taken aback by the beard and not sure what I’d stumbled upon.
    Kat

  9. Max says:

    The children of Walford were rehearsing their nativity play in Eastenders today, and Joseph’s felt beard wasn’t as good as yours. (not that I watch Eastenders of course)

  10. Andrew Brown says:

    Kat – looks like it’s a spam blog stealing from us all to try and give their links better google ratings. Sorry to scare you with the beard though!

    Max – good to learn we’re one up on the BBC. I’ll pass that on to my partner.

  11. wordhawk says:

    Andrew, thanks for stopping by my websites. Would you consider a reciprocal link?

    I reported the spamblog to blogger. Hope that will take care of it, at least for now.

    Here, in Canada, we have a version of the BBC. I’m a big fan of Eastenders, but we’re about 2 years behind! Dirty Den is under the pub floor and Sharon is about to head off to Spain to find him for her wedding!

    Don’t give anything away, will you?

    Kat

Leave a Reply

