Songs I’ve Downloaded This Week

In what has been a pretty strong week for excellent downloads these are the ones I’ve particularly enjoyed:

the “B” side

  • Esther Phillips – Cheater Man

Sir Shambling’s Deep Soul Heaven (via In Dangerous Rhythm)

  • A whole load of gospel, but if you’re not going to download them all then can I recommend in particular No Sunshine In A Storm, I’ll Take Care of You, and (If Serving God Is Wrong) I Don’t Want To Be Right but really you should spend the time and get them all.

Souled On

  • “Have A Little Mercy” – Ann Sexton

Souled On

  • “Good To The Very Last Drop” – Millie Jackson

Palms Out Sounds

  • Nid & Sancy – “My Rave”

WFMU (via Transpontine)

  • After the Goldrush – The Two Pete’s
One from me

For my more secular minded readers I have been listening to the potentially illegal The Only Good Christian by Foetus but not wanting to test the law or your patience I’ve opted to share a different song from my collection; not as pretty as the gospel, but evocative of the early 1990’s post-grunge indie scene:

About Andrew Brown

I live in Lewisham, South East London, and spent 9 years as a Labour councillor in the borough between 1997 and 2006.
This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Songs I’ve Downloaded This Week

  1. lindamae says:

    Thanks for not letting the world forget my friend, my famiily–ESTHER PHILLIPS!

    Her birthday is coming up–12/23!

Leave a Reply

