More Granola

I’ve just finished making some more granola, and this time I’ve used a slightly different recipe.

The ingredients are:

1 x Rolled Oats
1 x Jumbo Oats
1/3 x Seeds
1/3 Hazelnuts
1 x Sunflower oil
1x Clear honey
1/3 Dried cranberries
1/3 Sultanas

To make it, pre-heat the oven to 140C; mix the oats, seeds and nuts in a large mixing bowl; heat the oil and honey in a saucepan until the honey melts into the oil.

Pour the honey and oil over the mixture and make sure everything is mixed together.

Spread the granola over a baking tray – top tip is to put waxed paper underneath which stops it sticking – and cook in the oven for 50 minutes or so.  Turn occasionally.

Take out of the oven and mix in the dried fruit.

Tags: ,

About Andrew Brown

I live in Lewisham, South East London, and spent 9 years as a Labour councillor in the borough between 1997 and 2006.
This entry was posted in food. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to More Granola

  1. Lone Ranger says:

    Yipes you must be hungry it fills a bath!!

  2. Fresh and wild granola makes me so happy.
    There’s one just by my work and I spend alot of time in there wishing I could afford half the stuff. Making my own is a cheaper alternative but still some of the food is a bit pricey.

    http://www.wholefoodsmarket.com/recipes/breakfast-brunch/granola_almnutmeg.html

  3. Andrew Brown says:

    That looks like a good recipe! This one was supposed to have almonds in it too, but we didn’t have any in the house. I might also try essence of vanilla next time.

    As for how much to make, well it goes fast, so I was doing 3 cups rather than 1. Still don’t think it’ll last more than a week with the two of us filling our bowls.

  4. Which is quite hard not to do with granola because it tastes so nice!
    I quite like making it though because it makes my kitchen smell really nice 🙂

Leave a Reply

