From dips to deaths … shop around to find the best council deals

The Guardian today has a piece about the cost of local services.  You might find the following of interest:

If you are a pensioner and you want a free swim in London, choose a pool in Brent, Islington, Lambeth, Lewisham and Westminster and it won’t cost a penny. If you are over 60 and still can’t swim and want to learn, instruction is also free in Westminster and Lambeth. But avoid going to Bromley – where it is £3 a time and £10.20 an hour for swimming instruction or Richmond on Thames where it is £3.50 a session.

About Andrew Brown

I live in Lewisham, South East London, and spent 9 years as a Labour councillor in the borough between 1997 and 2006.
This entry was posted in Lewisham and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to From dips to deaths … shop around to find the best council deals

  1. Max says:

    How many over 60 that don’t know how to swim but want to learn do you think there are out there?
    I bet it’s more expensive for Bromley to spend (waist) time trying to pitch the price than the money they get in.

  2. Max says:

    By the way maybe the journalist could have done a bit more research, I wouldn’t advise anybody to go to Brent for swimming since there are only two pools (and not that big) in the whole of the Borough. It used to have only one and for a period it was a “dry” borough.

  3. kate says:

    Max my mum is 66 and cannot swim. She really should learn to benefit her health.

  4. My Dad is 63 and can’t swim either. He should learn too, but he won’t!

  5. Max says:

    My mum is 69 and her flat is overlooking a brand new swimming pool with a 50 m indoor and a 50 m outdoor pool (in Trieste, Italy, it hosted the european championship last year), she’s a 10 minutes walk from an indoor therapeutic sea water pool, she even has the option to go with my sister that would really like to bring her with her to the spa/gym she goes to. Not to mention that there there’s the sea.
    She can swim very well and she’s go money to pay her ways but still she doesn’t go.
    Her excuse is that “then I have to go to the hairdresser”.

    I think that people that are used to go swimming keep on doing so, it’s a good habit you pick up early and then you stick to. There probably are some over 60 that don’t know how to swim and learn late in life but I don’t think they’re that many.

  6. I’m a huge fan of swimming. My buddy lives in one of them gated housing places in Mudchute and they have a pool there. Free of charge! And a gym!

    Ideal for everything really 😀

    I hope I’m still swimming whenever I can as long as I’m alive.

Leave a Reply

