Songs I’ve Downloaded This Week

Sir Shambling’s Deep Soul Heaven

Like so many of the artists I’ve found over at Deep Soul Heaven this is completely new to me. I do love a good soul duet and this one is up amongst the best.

Soul Sides

A guilty pleasure. I remember really disliking Hall & Oats in the 1980s, so to find out that this slice of pop soul is actually quite enjoyable is a bit of a surprise.

Souled On

If you like deep soul then you’ll love this, and the post it comes from is a cracker too.

Moistworks

I’ve recently re-learned to love The Kinks, somehow they’d fallen off my radar.  Perhaps because I was over familiar with their biggest hits, but listening to Lola Vs The Powerman & The Money Go Round recently has reminded me what a great band they were.  This song on Moistworks – a fantastic blog by the way – reconfirmed that view.

Stepfather of Soul

You’d just have to love a man called Perk Badger, wouldn’t you?  The song is very solid too.  More Perk over on Sir Shambling’s Deep Soul Heaven.

Fufu Stew

Another top notch mix from Vincent.

About Andrew Brown

I live in Lewisham, South East London, and spent 9 years as a Labour councillor in the borough between 1997 and 2006.
This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

