Local Assemblies

Chris Best takes us through the way it’s supposed to work.

About Andrew Brown

I live in Lewisham, South East London, and spent 9 years as a Labour councillor in the borough between 1997 and 2006.
This entry was posted in Lewisham and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Local Assemblies

  1. Max says:

    I think I recognize one of the residents in the video, he used to be the Leader of the Council once.

    I met him at last year’s Area Forum for Lee, Lewisham Central and Blackheath, he tried to block my proposal to use the constitutional power of the area forum to put items in the Mayor’s Agenda.
    First he appealed to he officers and told them that I had to be stopped because they were allowing an unconstitutional practice under their watch, and it wasn’t,
    He then eventually managed to force a vote before mine to decide whether I could proceed with asking for a vote and tried to convince the residents intervened to the Area Forum that what I was doing was not kosher for some reason that revolved around the idea that the Mayor had taken his considerate decisions and it wasn’t our business to argue with that and therefore I should not have been allowed to ask for a vote.
    That was voted, 27 votes against and 1 for.
    That decided we proceeded with the vote I proposed: 27 votes for, 1 against.

    Anyway, good to see that he had a change of heart and now he supports people power.

  2. ross says:

    sounds like a typical opportunist politician

  3. Andrew Brown says:

    I don’t think I’ve ever met a “typical” politician, they’ve all seemed quite different to me. I think you probably need to give your ideological specs a good clean, Ross.

  4. ross says:

    typical opportunist politician was what i said, i.e. typical behaviour of a particular type of politician

    (of which i believe there to be a vast number of them, however that’s beside the point for the purposes of the original comment)

    and as for giving out advice on seeing things for what they are, i think it’s a bit rich coming from a new labour hack

  5. ross says:

    i actually don’t know what that means

  6. Andrew Brown says:

    Back to the original point. Max is right that Jim Mallory was leader of the council for a period and has since gone on to use his experience to good effect in other parts of our civic life. Whether he’d describe himself as a politician is a moot point; if he’s a politician I must be as well, but I don’t feel like one any more and am much happier being described as a hack.

    As Max will remember I was enthusiastic about his use of the constitution in the local assembly and I think Jim was wrong to try to oppose it, but not being there I can’t guess at his motivation.

  7. Andrew Brown says:

    Wikipedia says:

    The phrase touché is often used in popular culture and general conversation—for example, in an argument or debate. If one person presents an argument and another delivers a clever or apt response, the first person may respond with “touché” as a way of acknowledging a good response.

  8. Max says:

    As one Video caption says, on 19th January community representatives met with the Council to discuss how assemblies might work.

    We see 11 people around a table, one is Cllr Chris Best, at least one must be a council officer and at least one community representative was once not just a Labour Councillor but the leader of the Council.
    I don’t know who the others are but I hope that they redress the balance that is quite Council-centric looking at the known knowns.

    Mallory is of course a legitimate community representative as he is Chair of the Manor House Garden Users Group ( http://tinyurl.com/ysr68h ).

  9. Andrew Brown says:

    Just for those of my readers who don’t take as much interest in Jim’s career as Max; it has been almost 10 years since Jim was leader of the council.

    Since then as well as his work with the Manor House Gardens user group Jim has also chaired a Neighbourhood Management Committee (and may still do so for all I know), so as Max says has wider legitimacy than just his stint on the council.

    As for the other people in the video they’re not people I recognise, but I do have a terrible memory for faces.

Leave a Reply

