Mayor and Cabinet – RSS Experiment

If Mayor and Cabinet papers won’t come to RSS, perhaps I can help bring RSS to Mayor and Cabinet.

In an attempt to show that I’ve got too much time on my hands this morning I’ve set up a del.icio.us account and bookmarked the Mayor and Cabinet papers for 5 March.  That means you can – should you have an interest in these things – get the RSS feed.

I’ve also attempted to tag the papers so that it should be possible to search for things over time.

It’s a bit of a chore doing it this way so whether I’ll continue to do it will depend in part on whether I can find the time, and whether people think it’s of use.

About Andrew Brown

I live in Lewisham, South East London, and spent 9 years as a Labour councillor in the borough between 1997 and 2006.
This entry was posted in Lewisham, Lewisham's Politicians and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Mayor and Cabinet – RSS Experiment

  1. Jeremy says:

    So obvious, so simple – and yet genius. Hmm that’s given me an idea…

  2. Andrew Brown says:

    Ta Jeremy, the question is how long I’m going to be able to sustain doing it! Still worth having a go, plus it’ll remind me just how little I miss all the paper that comes with elected responsibilities. 🙂

  3. Mr Hornsby says:

    Good show Andrew, and an interesting way of setting up a feed. It’s a method that I mean to explore myself.
    I’d be interested to know how many people take up the feed.

    My method for creating a feed for my employer’s website was to hand code an XML file (not as tricky as it sounds). My stumbling block has been persuading my managers that running an RSS feed is worth 20 minutes of my time every week (which is why the feed I discussed on your site previously has not yet materialised).

    It’s seen as something that is for a niche/technical audience only, and not an effective way of communicating with a large audience. I understand this argument, but don’t agree with it.

    Why, if it weren’t for feeds, I’d have never have seen this post.

  4. Andrew Brown says:

    Thanks Paul. I suspect everything to do with the actual decision making process in local government is for a niche audience.

    Anyway since when have council’s tried to talk about the myriad of decisions that councillors make with a large audience?

Leave a Reply

