links for 2008-04-26

About Andrew Brown

I live in Lewisham, South East London, and spent 9 years as a Labour councillor in the borough between 1997 and 2006.
This entry was posted in Lewisham. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to links for 2008-04-26

  1. Thanks for the link Andrew. I hope all you Lewisham and Greenwich residents out there read it and pass it on. I don’t imagine many people are actually considering voting for Ms Jones, but you never know how stupid people can be…

    How did I manage to live this long without ever hearing of Dave Godin?

  2. rp says:

    Shudderingly predictable results from the “Ladywell Village Improvements Group (still provisional name!)”

    No mention of a “Welcome the Travellers” banner though . . .

  3. Max says:

    Hi Andrew, the Loampit Vale website seems to have disappeared today and that prompted me a question. How did you know that it still had to be “publicly launched”?
    I’m asking you this because last night I sent a mail out to my old campaign email list with a link to the site and people is emailing me saying that they cannot access it so if you know anything more than I do that would help me answer those emails.

  4. rp says:

    Hi max, it is interesting that the site is down, I looked at at around midday and it was still there, but now, nothing.

    More interestingly, the swimming pool didn’t appear to have any windows around it . . .

  5. rp says:

    that said, there is a remnant left, but only the home page:

    http://www.loampitvale.co.uk/

    perhaps they’re putting windows on the ‘artists impression’

  6. Andrew Brown says:

    Nothing sinister, Max, I spoke to someone in the council who told me it would be launched next week – Council’s get nervous about launching things during election periods.

  7. rp says:

    Should the council be giving information like this out to a member of the public such as yourself? Presumably this information was given in response to a question asked by yourself, and of course, the public have a right to answer questions, but would, for instance, a similar question asked by Max, provide the same result?

    What I’m trying to say is that if there was any kind of confidentiality attached to this information then it shouldn’t have been given to you.

  8. Max says:

    I have a good relationship with a few officers actually, they wouldn’t tell me any of those fabled “confidential matters” that can bring the uninitiated to sleepless nights if put aware of, but they would possibly tell me this.

    Anyway, I would have thought that they would have considered launching this in conjunction with the opening of Wavelengths rather than the London elections.

  9. Andrew Brown says:

    Given the website was in the public domain – ie on Andrew M’s blog – I don’t think I was being told anything inappropriately.

  10. Max says:

    I just called Wavelengths and asked when do they open the lane pool and they told me “end of August, might be later” (that’s a slippage), so no chance of linking the launch to that.

    Anyway, it seems to me like a case of a false start in the deployment of a PR operation.

    A clear case of locking the gate after the horse has bolted.

  11. Lone Ranger says:

    The polling stations have closed and the website has come into life. Is swimming/leisure really regarded as such a political hot potato?

  12. Andrew Brown says:

    [hollow laugh] I wouldn’t know [/hollow laugh]

  13. Pingback: Loampit Vale « Someday I Will Treat You Good

Leave a Reply

