links for 2008-05-19

About Andrew Brown

I live in Lewisham, South East London, and spent 9 years as a Labour councillor in the borough between 1997 and 2006.
This entry was posted in Lewisham. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to links for 2008-05-19

  1. I’m sure you don’t really mean to sound so sarcastic about the Nappucino! It’s a great idea, promoting an option that’s much more environmentally friendly, if not so easy to actually do!

  2. Andrew Brown says:

    I’m not about “much more environmentally friendly” Clare, as far as I know the last piece of research was by the Environment Agency. Their report says:

    For the three nappy systems studied, there was no significant difference between any of the environmental impacts – that is, overall no system clearly had a better or worse environmental performance, although the life cycle stages that are the main source for these impacts are different for each system.

    The different types of nappies studied were:

    • disposable nappies;
    • home laundered flat cloth nappies; and
    • commercially laundered prefolded cloth nappies delivered to the home.

    I know that advocates of real nappies argue that the study was flawed, but I’ve not yet seen a peer reviewed study which refutes the Environment Agency’s report.

    I don’t mind the companies involved in real nappies trying to grow their market, I’m just not sure they’re as straight about it as they’d have you believe. And I’m not sure about the reasons for using public funding to do it.

  3. That study had them washing the real nappies at 95 degrees and tumble drying them! It also didn’t take into account future children.

    I don’t use real nappies myself, I’m too hopeless to sort myself out to do it, and admit that disposables are an easy option. I just think that in general people like to stop themselves feeling bad about using disposables by quoting the above study, without really looking into what was actually being studied.

  4. Sue Luxton says:

    “If only London were a little more like Brockley eh…”
    Quite!

  5. Andrew Brown says:

    Clare you don’t think people boil wash or tumble dry anymore? And here in Lewisham, of course, disposable nappies don’t travel long distances or go into landfill.

    The point being that judging the environmental impact is a bit more complex than reusable=good, disposable=bad; at least in this case.

  6. I don’t think that people using reusable nappies for eco reasons are likely to be boil washing them, no!

    That would be rather odd.

    And incineration is by no means a preferred option for all our children’s grotty nappies is it? But that’s a whole different debate.

    Sadly, I can’t make the nappuccino, as I’m on holiday, but I hope it goes well.

Leave a Reply

