Love Perry Vale

Another new Lewisham website (with blog), Love Perry Vale.

It’s nice to see John P back talking about local stuff, and giving us an insight into what he’s doing on the council.

The site itself seems to be designed in a way that means you may have to sign up to get the most from it, but that’s not a bad thing and certainly not a difficult process.

One of the things I really like is the (unofficial) calender of council meetings – now all we need to do is find a way of mashing that up with the RSS feed I do for Mayor and Cabinet (and Council) meeting papers – but that’s a bit beyond my technical skills.

About Andrew Brown

I live in Lewisham, South East London, and spent 9 years as a Labour councillor in the borough between 1997 and 2006.
This entry was posted in Lewisham. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Love Perry Vale

  1. Adam says:

    You should be able to do that pretty easily with Yahoo Pipes.

  2. Well, I’ve put a feed from your del.icio.us of the M&C papers on LPV. How much work/time do you have to put into harvesting it from the Council website? I tried (manually) including some links to the Council Meetings pages in my Gcal entries; but I wonder if there’s a way to automate this…

    (I made the Gcal after being told that the creaking Council CMS “could only hold meetings 2 weeks ahead” – and wanting to plan my diary a bit more than that. I’m trying to introduce LBL officers, gently, to the concept of Web2.0 integration – but it won’t-arf scare the lawyers!!!)

  3. Andrew Brown says:

    Thanks Adam – not used that before so that’ll be a good/new experience.

    John, it does take a while – mainly because I’m nosy and want to not only create the feed but have a bit of a peek at what (some of) the papers say – and I’d be happy if council officers were to do it for me, but until that happy day…

    Always think the LBL lawyers work best when they’re half scared! Anyway the point is that we can do this stuff for ourselves (given time and commitment) and that should scare them much, much more…

Leave a Reply

