Think Public

ithinkpublic t-shirt

I’ve been away a bit over recent weeks and so felt the need to reward my family for surviving without me.  Having been told “no more chocolate” I was a bit stuck, until I came across the very nice people at thinkpublic and their ithinkpublic range of t-shirts and badges.

My partner is the happy owner of a ithinkpublic t-shirt and my children have a very funky set of badges.

ithinkpublic badges

Whether we’ll let them wear the “i talk to strangers” one on the next school trip remains to be seen.

And on top all I now find that one of the people on the thinkpublic team is a local resident.

What more could a civic minded Lewisham blogger and his family want?

About Andrew Brown

I live in Lewisham, South East London, and spent 9 years as a Labour councillor in the borough between 1997 and 2006.
This entry was posted in Civic Society and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Think Public

  1. bagrec says:

    ooooh!
    I want those badges!

  2. Andrew Brown says:

    Yeah, they’re great aren’t they.

  3. Kate says:

    Cool badges. Ive been hunting for a badge maker for my kids and have found some great sites that make badges to order.

  4. Hi Andrew,
    I’m glad you are enjoying the t-shirts and the badges!
    We love badges, the are a great way to say something and start conversations on the bus!

    I’m always wearing the I talk to strangers one! I’m very excited to be part of the lewisham/brockley/ladywell community!

    Part of my role at thinkpublic is to make sure that as we are constantly aware of the needs of local and community groups, ensuring we include the right people in projects that affect them most, and on issues they are passionate about, so I’m excited to find more about the different, and clearly very active, community groups in the SE area.

  5. Andrew Brown says:

    Hi Alice, glad to have you here. I’ll make sure you get an invite to our next Lewisham Blogger’s Meet-Up, which I should start to organise quite soon.

  6. Lone Ranger says:

    Hello Alice,
    What is meant by “Our services are designed to support public sector reform.”?

    I noticed your organisation was engaged by Birmingham PCT “To abstract the re-design of their clinic services; shifting from the hospital into the community.” and your organisation created a tool-kit for other NHS Trusts so they can make the same shift.

    The ‘Picture of Health” exercise is to shift Lewisham hospital into the local community while possibly closing the A&E and children’s department. Is that the sort of reform your organisation is involved with?

    Not to be rude but words like ‘Reform’ and ‘Modernise’ do not mean a service will be changed for the better.

    http://www.apictureofhealth.nhs.uk/

    ———
    Re Local Assembles there is a document that decribes how they operate and how they can feed an issue into the council chamber. It’s called “Local Assemlies An Implementation Guide” unfortunately I can’t seem to find on the councial website, try contacting Sam Dias for a copy sam.dias@lewisham.gov.uk

  7. Hi ‘Lone Ranger’,

    I appreciate your comments and its an interesting debate. I would be happy to talk in more detail about this, please email me at alice.osborne@thinkpublic.com.

  8. Lone Ranger says:

    It was just a general observation and comment.

    A local Housing Association has felt it needs to employ a company that sells itself by saying….

    “Dialogue will ensure that local communities are kept informed of the benefits of any development proposal, and that support is captured and opposition put in context.”

    Only the benefits will be presented and discussed?

    The line ‘support will be captured and opposition put in context’, seems to put public consultation into context.

Leave a Reply

