Duke Vin and the Birth of Ska

I’m afraid I won’t be around for the SERTUC Film Club’s showing of Duke Vin and the Birth of Ska on Thursday 7th August 2008 (6.30 – 9.30pm).

Apparently the film will tell the story of Duke Vin and Count Suckle and their arrival in the UK.

They both stowed away on a boat from Kingston and brought with them a sound that was sweeping across the small Caribbean Island and would later change the face of music in the UK.

It’s free but you’ll need to book.

About Andrew Brown

I live in Lewisham, South East London, and spent 9 years as a Labour councillor in the borough between 1997 and 2006.
This entry was posted in Art. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Duke Vin and the Birth of Ska

  1. Max says:

    You know, the first time I came to London was as a musician, I was 21 yo and I was playing with a Ska band at the time, anyway, the band did a record with the London based label Unicorn Records, so we came to play at a festival somewhere in Camden. A great trip in the deep end of London really.
    And now that I was reminded of it I googled it and found the catalogue of Unicorn and there it is, my disc with also my face on the cover.
    http://www.hpska.com/related/unicorn/unicorn.html
    It’s the Spy Eye disc, count seven from the bottom, in the cover photo I’m the one on the left.

  2. rp says:

    you old rocker…

  3. Max says:

    Everyone has a past. And Google will know it!

  4. Just passing says:

    Why wasn’t the band called La Skala?

  5. Max says:

    I didn’t have a say in any decision in that band, it was all run by one man, the front man and singer that was actually the only one interested in ska and was also the composer of all songs in spite of his next to zero knowledge of music theory, very talented man. And he had a pub.
    That band was good fun, the bass had a very fat sound and was very much into funk and the guitar was pure punk-rock, so it was a bit of a high energy punk-ska-funk thing (although funk is on ones and ska is on twos), I played alto sax and there was also a trumpet and sometimes a trombone too.

Leave a Reply

