Study reveals cultural differences in attitudes towards caring for people with dementia

According to the Institute of Psychiatry news:

south Asian and Black Caribbean carers of people with dementia are more likely to perceive their caring role as natural, expected and virtuous.

In contrast, White British people are more likely to hold a ‘non-traditional’ caregiving ideology, deriving little or no reward from such a relationship and believing their own lives are put ‘on hold’ while they perform caring duties.

And this is because they’ve spoken with 32 carers of people with dementia, some of whom come from Lewisham. They say that many of those from BME communities seem to see their role in giving care as being natural:

One south Asian son said: “You know, as Indians, we always look after our parents…my father looked after me when I was young and he has done lots and lots of things for me so it’s my turn to look after him.”

Sons and daughters of south Asian and Black Caribbean origin with traditional ideologies viewed caring less as a necessity and more as an opportunity to reciprocate parental support. One daughter, born in the Caribbean, reflected on how her attitude towards caregiving differed from that of her British-born siblings: “It’s something I want to do and I’m glad I can do it. It’s almost a privilege to do, but then, you know, I…as I said I grow up in Jamaica and it’s probably a cultural thing. Whereas my younger siblings don’t have quite the same dedication, they’ll do it because it’s Dad but it’s not their duty.”

About Andrew Brown

I live in Lewisham, South East London, and spent 9 years as a Labour councillor in the borough between 1997 and 2006.
This entry was posted in Civic Society, Lewisham. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Study reveals cultural differences in attitudes towards caring for people with dementia

  1. ross says:

    the soul of (white british) man under neo liberalism

    the cult of the individual ‘triumphs’ over everything else, no such thing as society (or family) etc…

    thatcher set it out as clearly as hitler set his intentions out in mein kamf

    “What’s irritated me about the whole direction of politics in the last 30 years is that it’s always been towards the collectivist society. People have forgotten about the personal society. And they say: do I count, do I matter? To which the short answer is, yes. And therefore, it isn’t that I set out on economic policies; it’s that I set out really to change the approach, and changing the economics is the means of changing that approach. If you change the approach you really are after the heart and soul of the nation. Economics are the method; the object is to change the heart and soul”

    well you got our soul you bitch

Leave a Reply

