A Break, I Guess

I’ve been thinking about it and now seems like a good time to take a bit of a break from this blog. For how long I’m not sure, but that’s usually the way with these things isn’t it?

But before I go I want to point out this piece from the Times Higher about the lack of links between accedemia and politics which I thought was an interesting read.  Philip Cowley, who knows a thing or two argues:

“The rational decision for young academics is not to engage with government. Nothing in the system rewards it. There is no incentive to present research in a way (that is) relevant to policymakers – indeed, some academics are specifically told not to do ‘policy-relevant research’ because it is less likely to appear in the elite journals. The research assessment exercise (RAE) is a large contributing factor.”

I’d also like to urge you to visit the site of Bodies of Water, a band that those of you who like Their Hearts Were Full of Spring may also like. They’ve been good enough to let you download a number of their songs and I particularly like I Guess I’ll Forget the Sound, I Guess, I Guess.

And finally, those of you interested in hyperlocal blogging should take a look at EveryBlock which looks like a fantastic way that some American bloggers with a local theme can be found.  I’m guessing that Richard Pope’s Streetwire will try to do something similar here and if you blog about local things then you should join up.

About Andrew Brown

I live in Lewisham, South East London, and spent 9 years as a Labour councillor in the borough between 1997 and 2006.
This entry was posted in Ephemera. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to A Break, I Guess

  1. Max says:

    You’re due a blogging break. I think you’ve been going on since pioneering times.

    Academic papers feeding into policies? You mean instead of the tabloids?

  2. bagrec says:

    I thought you’d been a bit quiet recently!
    I will miss your posts, but at least you’re having a break and not deleting your blog.

    I’ve been thinking along similar lines for a while, as blogging has taken a back seat for the last seven months of my “new life”, and I may well dry up all together when I take up full-time house-husbandry at the end of this year.

    Good luck, and I look forward to your return!

  3. Bob says:

    Enjoy the break – but don’t let it go on too long! All the best, b

  4. ross says:

    glad to hear you’re still alive andrew!

    were you out walking in ladywell park on saturday by the way? i was going to say hello but wasn’t sure if it was you or not

  5. I trust it’s just a holiday and not a migration to a foreign, online land. Enjoy the break and be back soon.

  6. Andrew Brown says:

    Thank you everyone.

    Yes Ross that was me, trying to keep up with the 7 year old on a bike and playing Pooh Sticks with a 5 year old.

  7. I hope it’s just a break and not giving up for good! I look forward to reading your posts.

  8. Enjoy the break and thank you for welcoming me onto the local blogging scene and supporting me. I have enjoyed what you have been writing, so far…
    Thanks,
    DG

  9. ross says:

    “Yes Ross that was me, trying to keep up with the 7 year old on a bike and playing Pooh Sticks with a 5 year old.”

    far more rewarding/satisfying than blogging to cranky cynics i wager!

    i passed you all just past the cafe on the other side of the fence at ladywell station, you were catford bound with me and the missus headed ladywell direction

  10. rp says:

    all the best Andrew, will miss some aspects of your blog

    😉

  11. darryl853 says:

    Enjoy the break! I just hope it isn’t too long away… (by the way, is there going to be a Lewisham bloggers’ meet soon? I feel thirsty.)

  12. kate says:

    ah man….i just get my internet back and theres nothing to read. 🙂 Look forward to your return.

  13. Darryl – I hope so, but maybe someone else will have to organise it! Don’t take too long a break Andrew!

  14. Reidski says:

    And I also hope that Lewisham’s top blogging geezer has a good break.

  15. Nick says:

    Enjoy your time off, but please come back soon.

  16. Mr Hornsby says:

    Enjoy the recharge Andrew, I look forward to your blogging return.

  17. snowflake5 says:

    Hope you’ve enjoyed your break and will be back in the New Year. Merry Christmas!

  18. Jack says:

    I like your work. I will certainly miss you. Do come back soon. It is about time now. This is Jack Brown from Israeli Uncensored News.

Leave a Reply

