Cycle Friday is dead long live Cycle Friday

As someone who has just decided that I don’t want to pay train companies to make me feel empathy for sardines I’ve gone and decided to cycle to work.

I ought to have been a prime candidate for the Cycle Friday thing that Adam tells us is being put out of its misery, but either the bike shop in Catford I bought by bike from didn’t know about it or have a sadistic streak that I’d rather discount.

I have to say that having taken the decision and having now done the trip a couple of times the worries that I had – other than being very, very slow – have largely dissipated.  Where I feel nervous I get off the bike, when I get lost it’s usually easy enough to work out where I’ve gone wrong, so I don’t think I’ve missed a huge amount from not taking part in a Friday get together.

As others have said in response to Adam’s piece, Friday is an odd day to have had the thing anyway.  Surely Monday’s would have been the day that people decide to first brave the traffic?

Oh well.

About Andrew Brown

I live in Lewisham, South East London, and spent 9 years as a Labour councillor in the borough between 1997 and 2006.
This entry was posted in Civic Society. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

