met up

Just a quick note to say thanks to all that turned up this evening. I thoroughly enjoyed myself and if the length of the conversations that were going on after the pub kicked us out were an indication of anything it may mean that I’ll try the same thing again, in a bit.

Perhaps I’ll write a bit more in the morning, or at least link to those of you that write something.

Update: Here’s who came. Andrew, Sue, Andrew, Bob, John, James, Jens, Max and Tom.

What was special about the evening were the moments when people went “oh its you who…”, usually about Andrew and his excellent Ragged School blog; it was great to meet Bob, whose secret identity is safe with me; and to find Max is admired by one of the people behind Ren and Stimpy.

It was also really gratifying to find that despite being the last people out of the pub, and it being quite cold a fair number of us stood around for a further 20 minutes carrying on conversations we’d been having in the pub.

So, as I wandered off home I agreed with some of the people wandering in the same direction as me that I’d organise another meet-up in 6 months or so.

Get the date in your diary now to avoid disapointment.

About Andrew Brown

I live in Lewisham, South East London, and spent 9 years as a Labour councillor in the borough between 1997 and 2006.
This entry was posted in Ephemera, Lewisham, Stuff from this Blog. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to met up

  1. Max says:

    Wonderful night out Andrew, thanks for the initiative.

  2. Wulf says:

    Sorry I missed it – I look forward to reading more about it and hope that I might be able to make something in future.

  3. Bob says:

    Thanks for organising it Andrew. I had a great time and it was really good to meet you. Hopefully, I’ll find time to post about it today…

  4. Yes, thanks for getting us together Andrew. It was great to meet people who I’ve formed different imagined pictures of – sometimes much more ‘evil’ than they turn out to be (Lewisham politicians excepted, of course ;->). I think the fact that even after the pub chucked us out we were still in earnest conversation on the pavement outside, for at least another half-hour, demonstrates a need for more like this.

  5. Jens Winton says:

    It was indeed a great idea, and well done for coming up with the idea! Let me know when the next one is planned!

  6. andrewkbrown says:

    Glad everyone seems to have enjoyed the evening as much as me.

  7. Pingback: Lewisham Bloggers’ Meet Up (2) « Someday I Will Treat You Good

Leave a comment